Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen test

Menü / Int. Wettbewerb


© Kurzfilmtage

On 28 February 1962, at the 8th West German Short Film Festival in Oberhausen, 26 West German filmmakers proclaimed the Oberhausen Manifesto. This moment marked a milestone in the development of German cinema – never before, and never again, would a break with existing production conditions be demanded, and induced, with such vehemence.


With a deliberately confrontational mixture between a crushing diagnosis of the German film industry and vehement emotionalism, the 26 signatories to the Oberhausen Manifesto claimed license to create a whole new German film. An essential component of the proclamation made in Oberhausen was the demand for the kind of production conditions that would enable them to put an end to the lethargy weighing down German film in the early 1960s. On the one hand, the Oberhauseners took up a political stance on film from the very beginning, and on the other they also declared themselves to be the creative spearhead in the fraught process of determining the form and content of German film to come.


In 2012, the Festival organized an international project titled "Provoking Reality – 50 Years of the Oberhausen Manifesto". Due to a cooperation of the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen with Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv and Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen, nearly 40 films by the signatories to the Oberhausen Manifesto were restored and preserved. Retrospectives were held in Berlin, Oberhausen, Pesaro, New York and Vienna. Also the book "Provoking Reality. The Oberhausen Manifesto and Its Consequences", edited by Ralph Eue and Lars Henrik Gass, has been published. This anthology conjoins largely unknown texts by Theodor W. Adorno, Alexander Kluge and Uwe Nettelbeck with a series of current essays and interviews. A double DVD was released as part of the series "Edition Filmmuseum" and features nearly 20 titles from the years 1957 to 1965, by filmmakers including Peter Schamoni, Herbert Vesely, Edgar Reitz and Christian Doermer, as well as extensive bonus material.


These interviews with witnesses and experts of the Oberhausen Manifesto are form the anniversary year in 2012:


Jutta Brückner, author, filmmaker, university professor

Ellen Wietstock, film journalist

Romuald Karmakar, filmmaker

Ulrich Gregor, film critic

Chris Tedjasukmana, film scholar

Peter Berling, filmmaker, actor and producer

Robert Drew, American documentary producer

Hilmar Hoffmann, founder and director of the Oberhausen International Short Film Festival from 1954 to 1970

Sebestyén Kodolányi, archive director of Béla Balázs Studio (BBS) in Budapest

Siegfried Zielinski, media theorist and director of the Vilém Flusser Archive at the Berlin University of the Arts


Pictures from the year 1962 can be found here.


Contact: Sabine Niewalda

Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen test

Menü / Int. Wettbewerb

Oberhausener
Manifest

© Kurzfilmtage

Am 28. Februar 1962 verkündeten 26 bundesdeutsche Filmschaffende bei den 8. Westdeutschen Kurzfilmtagen das Oberhausener Manifest: Sie schufen damit einen Meilenstein in der Entwicklung des deutschen Kinos – nie zuvor, nie danach wurde mit einer solchen Vehemenz ein Bruch mit den bestehenden Produktionsverhältnissen verlangt und auch herbei geführt.

 

Die 26 Unterzeichner des Oberhausener Manifests reklamierten in einer bewusst konfrontativen Mischung aus niederschmetternder Diagnose der deutschen Filmwirtschaft und ungestümem Pathos die Lizenz zur Schaffung des neuen deutschen Spielfilms. Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Oberhausener Erklärung war die Forderung nach Bereitstellung von Produktionsbedingungen, die es erlauben sollten, der Lethargie, in der sich der deutsche Film zu Beginn der 1960er Jahre befand, ein Ende zu setzen. Einerseits bezogen die Oberhausener von Beginn an filmpolitisch Stellung, andererseits erklärten sie sich zur kreativen Speerspitze im schwierigen Prozess der formalen und inhaltlichen Wirklichkeitsbestimmung des deutschen Films.

 

Im Jahr 2012 widmeten die Kurzfilmtage mit "Provokation der Wirklichkeit - 50 Jahre Oberhausener Manifest" dem Manifest eine international angelegtes Projekt. Durch eine Kooperation der Kurzfilmtage mit dem Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv und der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen wurden knapp 40 Filme der Unterzeichner des Oberhausener Manifests in enger Zusammenarbeit restauriert und konservatorisch gesichert. Diese waren Grundlage von Retrospektiven in Berlin, Oberhausen, Pesaro, New York und Wien. Überdies erschien die Buchpublikation "Provokation der Wirklichkeit. Das Oberhausener Manifest und die Folgen". Die Anthologie enthält weitgehend unbekannte Texte von Theodor W. Adorno, Alexander Kluge und Uwe Nettelbeck u.a. sowie eine Reihe von aktuellen Essays und Gesprächen. Eine Doppel-DVD in der Reihe "Edition Filmmuseum" enthält knapp 20 Titel aus den Jahren 1957 bis '65, u.a. von Peter Schamoni, Herbert Vesely, Edgar Reitz, Christian Doermer, sowie umfangreiches Bonusmaterial.

 

Aus dem Jubiläumsjahr 2012 stammen auch diese Interviews mit Zeitzeugen und Experten zum Oberhausener Manifest: 

 

Jutta Brückner, Autorin, Filmemacherin, Hochschulprofessorin

Ellen Wietstock, Filmjournalistin

Romuald Karmakar, Filmemacher

Ulrich Gregor, Filmkritiker

Chris Tedjasukmana, Filmwissenschaftler

Peter Berling, Filmemacher, Schauspieler und Produzent

Robert Drew, amerikanischer Dokumentarfilm-Produzent

Hilmar Hoffmann, Gründer und Leiter der Oberhausener Kurzfilmtage von 1954 bis 1970

Sebestyén Kodolányi, Archivleiter des Béla Balázs Studio (BBS) in Budapest

Siegfried Zielinski, Medientheoretiker und Leiter des Vilém-Flusser-Archivs an der Berliner Universität der Künste

 

Eine Bildergalerie aus dem Jahr 1962 finden Sie hier.

 

Kontakt: Sabine Niewalda